Which mono...?

Started by Aiala, September 04, 2020, 01:39:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

oc1

You people are so uncouth.    I would not have wanted my twelve-year-old to read here and pick up bad habits.  It is spelled ya'll.

An authoritative source says: "Though "y'all" has gained acceptance through common usage, "ya'll" is the correct spelling. Language is born in the mouth and contractions are formed when the phonology of a word obviates a sound in a word that follows."

I stopped using mono all together twenty-five years ago and have never looked back.
-steve

Benni3

I top shot my 9/0 with 80lb hi catch diamond,,,,, ;) love it,,,,,,,,,, ;D

conchydong

Lots of good choices. Hard to go wrong with any of the lines mentioned. I have been using Sufix Superior for many years now and find it is a very good line and it is usually fair priced.

Aiala

Quote from: oc1 on September 04, 2020, 07:56:22 PM
An authoritative source says: "Though "y'all" has gained acceptance through common usage, "ya'll" is the correct spelling. Language is born in the mouth and contractions are formed when the phonology of a word obviates a sound in a word that follows."-Steve

The entire (lengthy) discussion is here:

https://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/Talk:y%27all#:~:text=Though%20%22y'all%22%20has,in%20a%20word%20that%20follows.

That "authoritative source" is dismissed as "rubbish" by a different authoritative source. For me, it's always been, and will remain, all o'y'all. Of course, everyone's free to speak as they please.  :D

~A~
I don't suffer from insanity... I enjoy every minute of it!  :D

MarkT

Quote from: oc1 on September 04, 2020, 07:56:22 PM
You people are so uncouth.    I would not have wanted my twelve-year-old to read here and pick up bad habits.  It is spelled ya'll.