Dedicated walleye vertical jigging reel idea

Started by tincanary, December 15, 2020, 11:38:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tincanary

Here in the Great Lakes, walleye is damn near religion for many and aside from trolling, vertical jigging is one of the better ways to get fish in the boat.  A friend of mine owns a charter service on the Detroit River and he uses Quantum baitcast reels with a flipping switch.  His reasoning, with the flipping switch engaged, he can pay out line and re-engage the clutch without having to turn the reel handle which lets him get to his desired depth easier.  He and his customers don't cast with those reels, they are strictly used for vertical jigging.  Since those reels are largely going the way of the dodo, he and I got talking about how to implement such a thing in a reel that is still in production.  I turned my attention to the newer style Ambassadeur, as they are very easy to modify and parts are easy to acquire.  As I studied schematics looking for a way, I came to the conclusion that there's a quick and dirty way I can get a similar result.  My idea is to remove the tab on the clutch arm.  When put into free spool, the tab is locked into place by the ratchet gear, and when the handle is turned to re-engage the spool, it moves the clutch arm back into position with the help of a spring.  So, say I take something like a 4600 with a thumb bar, grind off the tab, and now we can pay out line and re-engage the clutch just by actuating the thumb bar.  Sounds like a win/win to me.  He said he would be my test subject, so I'll slap something together from my parts bin between now and April when the walleye boats take back to the water.  Casting will be impossible with the reel set up in such a fashion, but it should be great for vertical jigging the tasty fellers.

happyhooker