DQ NOOB Question

Started by Bill B, January 13, 2021, 03:50:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bill B

I'm rather new to the DQ's....I have 2  270's but that's it.....my question is in sizing them....is it safe to assume the bigger the number the bigger the reel?  I can follow the 110, 220, 330 logic, but where does the 265 fit in....and I haven't even begun to figure out where the 1000, 2000 fit in.....would someone happen to have a chart or list of the sizes?

Thank you in advance....Bill
It may not be very productive,
but it's sure going to be interesting!

foakes

Glad to have you on board with DQ, Bill —

I and others will be glad to help you all we can.

As a rule, the (7) reels from 110 to 550 are in order, size-wise.

The next series of (7) from 110N to 550N are also in order.

The next series of (6) 1000 to 5000, are in order.

As are the (6) from 1001 to 5001.

Next is the '02 series, in order.

The clinker, is the earlier series — this is due to the fact that DQ was trying to find their footing, after WWII.

S.W. 68, 250 Standard, 240 Junior, 245 Junior, 218, 228, 238, 248, 265, 280, 285, 270, 275 are all in the earlier group.

It was both the engineering and the marketing department that came up with the numerical series — in size order — that made more sense to the angling community worldwide — particularly in North America.

Then there are more modern models also — and they are typically in a numerical size sequence.

Roland, in the Netherlands has a good history and timeline online — but size is not indicated clearly — just model numbers and approximate years.

http://home.kpn.nl/roland.lindenberh/index.html

Knowing your seriousness about getting things right, Captain — you will have this digested and dialed in very soon.

Glad to help with whatever you need, Bill.

Best, Fred

The Official, Un-Authorized Service and Restoration Center for quality vintage spinning reels.

D-A-M Quick, Penn, Mitchell, and ABU/Zebco Cardinals

--------