90 years of caked on Grease

Started by milne, May 31, 2021, 06:14:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

milne

I guess we have all struck this before, or still have a reel sitting there in the " I'll get to it one day "
Well, I had one of them, tucked away, deemed a bit of a lost cause.
Despite the fact, it was a 38 250 yard Long Beach, After all, I already had one and this was an add on from  bloke I bought a couple of other reels from.
Apart from the Green coloured chrome work, when it was cracked open, I had not seen anything like it before.
Normally, I would put it in a container, drown the internals with a WD40 soak for a few days, followed by a Tooth brush scrubbing.
Well, that didn't work, this crud was stuck in place.
So a friend put us on to this new stuff, it's WD40 Degreaser, citrus based..  Now, I have had some experience with a citrus based product before, I use a bloke to dip my vintage Motor bike frames in a citrus based solution, which completely strips all the paint down to bare metal, makes a great job.

So, I gave this New ( to me ) stuff, and I've got to say, it made short work of the years of rock solid baked on grease.  I still had to used the tooth brush, after leaving it for an hour soaking, but Geez I'm sold on the stuff, cuts the time it takes to normally clean out all the old stuff.
A simple rinse off in water afterwards, to neutralise everything, and all's rosy...
As Normal, I should have taken some photo's of the before and after, but wasn't really thinking about this at the time.
only cost about $5.00 for the can and used very little on this reel, so it would probably do at least a dozen or so reels with ease..
Comes out as a foam, then when left, reduces to a milky liquid.....

milne

I can show you the out come of the completed reel...

She's a well used one, but I do wonder how much the green stuff played an impact on it's end appearance...