SG47LCA ?

Started by AllenW, January 22, 2012, 03:00:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

AllenW

I'm just getting into great lakes fishing and started to buy equipment for it, I picked up 4 used Penn GTI320 and through this website have gone through and cleaned and re greased them, I also just picked up 2 new and 4 used Diawa Sealine SG47LCA reels and have a 27LCA that was used for three ways trolling on the Mississippi Pool 4.

I'm looking for two things, is there any mods I should consider, such as drag washers, internal parts and such and is there any tricks to getting these apart and more importantly back together again?
I did a search and didn't find anything on mods, and I think there's another reel tutorial that's similar to the 47LCA but am not sure which one it is.

I'll take pictures and such, just trying to make it a bit easier.
TIA

Al

Bryan Young

Start with http://www.daiwa.com/PartsDiagram/PartsDiagram/SG27LCA-47LCA.pdf.  It's the schematic diagram for your reels.  I think Alan has these.   The best thing to do is to change the drags out to grease carbon fiber drags, either Carbontex or HT-100s, whichever is easier to get.  For HT-100s, contact Scott's Bait and Tackle. For Carbontex, contact Dawn at Smoothdrag.  For HT-100s, you have to measure the drags and match something up with on the list that Alan prepared http://alantani.com/index.php?topic=21.0.   You could also do this with Carbontex at http://alantani.com/index.php?topic=1016.0 (but I believe that Dawn will be able to get you the set without the measurements).  The drag grease, you can get it from both Scott's and Smoothdrag.

Good luck.
:D I talk with every part I send out and each reel I repair so that they perform at the top of their game. :D

AllenW

Thanks, I'll email Dawn, there's another couple of spinning reels I'd like to change drags on.

I noticed a couple of the reels say Great Lakes on them and are just LC and not the LCA the others are.  ???
Maybe different reel ratio's or ??