349H Gear Sleeve

Started by therieldeal, January 23, 2012, 06:20:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

therieldeal

Newbie here... just picked up a 349H with the Newell "Wahoo special" kit installed.  Pretty neat reel!  It has a wide aluminum spool, aluminum base, etc.  Unfortunately there are some problems.  The drags are frozen/locked up, and the handle is loose – it appears the gear sleeve is partially stripped.  I can still get a new brass one for ~$16, but I was wondering if a stainless one from some other model (senator 114 or 115?) might fit?  Once I get it apart i'll take some diameter, bore, & length measurements of the existing sleeve.  If anyone else could take these measurements from similar senator parts that would really help me to figure this out...

Thanks!

alantani

mysticparts.com has some 98-349 gear sleeves left.  i'm all out.  check them out.  alan

"Edited as per Moderators to correct Scott's Bait & Tackle over to their new store name Mystic Reel Parts / www.mysticparts.com"
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

therieldeal

Thanks for the fast reply Alan!  That's where I saw the brass sleeves for $16ish.  I was hoping that maybe a stainless sleeve for some other model could be made to fit.  I plan to use the reel for land based shark fishing... also going to hopefully upgrade the drag stack to a 5+1 with carbontex washers (with instructions I found in an old thread here :))

richie668:
Thank You for everyone's input I was able to make this dragstack of 5 carbontex#2662 carbon fiber washers, 1 set of 349-h Thick stainless 3 drag set,1 keyed stock metal washer 1 slotted stock metal 349h drag washer, & 1 ht-100 113h drag washer behind the main gear. The end result a bottom  fishing machine!  Dawn at smoothdrag was very helpful & able to figure out tolerances dimensions etc. She put together an Exact fitting Set.

George4741

Welcome to the forum!