5000c questions from an absolute noob

Started by JasonGotaProblem, October 22, 2021, 03:54:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tincanary

Quote from: steelfish on October 27, 2021, 11:30:25 PM
people wanted to take baitcasting fishing into the next step of UL fishing, there is a "new" wave of casting UL lures with Baitcasting called BFS (bait finesse system) using baitcasting reels with special shallow, drilled out/ultralight, spools and light-action rods to throw lures weighing less than approximately 5-7g (3/16 oz to ΒΌ oz and below).

just to make fishing more entertaining, the goal is to cast lures with UL rods, sometimes using light fly blanks with baitcasting reels, catching a fish is just the cherry on the cake.

but to get into that you have to know how to cast lures with a casting reel without problem, then you can go down to cast light lures with small lowprofile reels or small old school reels (right Steve?) and just then, you can check to get into BFS.

I like to use small spinning reel from light shore fishing, but becomes boring when fish are not present, casting light lures with a small lowprofile reel make the day a bit less boring when there is not "catching" just "fishing".

I have some BFS reels, lots of fun to use.  Most of what I'm throwing is between 1/16 and 3/16, and these are brush choked trout streams I normally fish in.  In that capacity, they're the perfect tool.  You can fish in places a fly fisherman would have a lot of trouble and have much better accuracy than a spinning outfit.

This is my favorite combo, 4'10" Major Craft Finetail Stream Glass and a Shimano Calcutta Conquest BFS.  It has been places where the skeeters look like pterodactyls.

steelfish

So, coming from an actual user of BFS , why did you choose BFS over small 500 spinning reels?
The Baja Guy

oc1

I'm shocked Bob!  A tricked-out 5000 should be able to do what the Calcutta does.  Yeah?  That sure is a nice looking reel and switch though.