Should I Buy Ambassadeur Royal Express And 5000D?

Started by Walleye Guy, October 29, 2021, 12:45:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Walleye Guy

I have a lead on a 2500C Ambassadeur reel (been searching for one for awhile) and it turns out that the seller also has a Royal Express (5000 family, late 90's vintage) with fast cast for $50 and a green 5000D for $40 and an old Ocean City "Bay City" 250 for $10.  The Royal Express has misc minor scratches but not much boat rash, the 5000D has a fair amount of boat rash but it's not awful and the Ocean City reel (which I know absolutely nothing about) has a lot of chrome.  I know the Royal Express family has the 6.3:1 ratio but other than that are they anything special?  What is the purpose of the slide switch on the LH side (opposite the crank handle)?  What do you fellas think of the prices?  Do I "need" more reels?  Ha, no but I know this is the place to get grace from others who also fall off the wagon.  Winter is coming, though, so they would be fun to rebuild because I'll have some downtime.  The Ocean City reel would almost be worth it just to polish the chrome spool and see it shine again.  :)  Thanks in advance for any advice, all you guys are great and I love this forum.  ps: I'm supposed to give him an answer today so please respond soon. 

Donnyboat

I would buy the lot, with all this down time you have coming, you could restore them & sell what you dont need, to cover the cost of the others, the Bay City reels are really great vintage reels , good luck, cheers Don.
Don, or donnyboat

Wompus Cat

Well the Royal Express if late style  Black with the  Thumb Plate on top is within the current sales value .