A reflection on genius design...

Started by redsetta, November 02, 2021, 05:57:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

redsetta

G'day lads,

Been a while since posting a rundown, but I had the considerable good fortune of picking up a one-owner Abu Garcia Ambassadeur 20 yesterday and thought it might be of some interest!

In more than 15 years of working on reels, I've never even heard of one of these in New Zealand, let alone seen one in person.

These are an absolute masterclass in design and it's been a real privilege to finally get one in my hands and take a look inside.

It actually all started with Doc's post way back in 2012 - still what I reckon is the best-ever post on Alan's site:
https://alantani.com/index.php?topic=5123.msg40771#msg40771

I've been chasing one of these ever since and, nearly 10 years later, here it is.

It's never been touched, so I took a few pics of the externals then stripped and cleaned it, so it kicks off with the reassembly...

The spool and right side plate come away with just one hand-twist knob on the clicker side.

Then the rest of the reel comes apart with the removal of one finger-tight threaded gear and four screws.

It's simply genius.

Waaaay before it's time - a thrust bearing of such quality, it's still perfect nearly 40 years after manufacture...

I'll let the pics speak for themselves from here...

The only fly in the ointment was a seized drag plate screw.

Despite the gentlest of coaxing, heating, penetrating oil etc, the brass screw still stripped on the first proper turn.

My heart broke in the process, but c'est la vie. I tried to cut a small notch in the head with a Dremel cutting wheel, but no joy.

So I ended up having to drill it out and use a tiny screw extractor to get the base thread out.

I have a flathead of identical dimensions, so was able to keep on with the reassembly, but I'll replace it with a Phillips when I can (we're still in COVID lock-down here in Auckland).