PENN 970, 980, 990 MAG POWER REELS - PARTS INTERCHANGABILITY & MODIFICATIONS ???

Started by ez2cdave, December 04, 2021, 06:54:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ez2cdave

PENN 970, 980, 990 MAG POWER REELS - PARTS INTERCHANGABILITY & MODIFICATIONS ???

I have ZERO experience with this series of Penn reels and I have several questions.

( 1 ) Among the 970, 980, & 990, which Components ( other than the Spool, Reel Foot, and Spacer Bars ) will interchange ?

( 2 ) Which components will not interchange ?

( 3 ) What modifications can be performed ?

I am, primarily, concerned with the 980 and 990 reels . . . Mostly about drivetrain components.

Thanks, in advance, for all help !

Tight lines !

Dave F.

foakes

You can probably check on Mystic's website

Print out (3) parts lists — then do a color code comparison matching up the numbers.

I traded a crate load of 970-980-990 NOS parts to Sal a couple of years ago — for a bunch of DAM Quick parts he had.

So I am not much help here.

Best, Fred
The Official, Un-Authorized Service and Restoration Center for quality vintage spinning reels.

D-A-M Quick, Penn, Mitchell, and ABU/Zebco Cardinals

--------

The first rule of fishing is to fish where the fish are. The second rule of fishing is to never forget the first rule.

"Enjoy the little things in Life — For someday, you may look back — and realize that they were the big things"
                                                     Fred O.

PacRat

Dave,
Run a search here and especially pay attention to Sal. I vaguely remember that he wrote that his love for these reels had something to do with parts compatibility with 4/0...especially gears and drag, so very likely eccentric, yoke, etc. also.

This is a good place to start: https://alantani.com/index.php?topic=10273.0

Brendan

I must have been so into my pro gear CS501 that I never noticed that thread. Looks like a great little reel.
Brendan.

ez2cdave

I had read all of the Mag Power threads previously.