First attempt at a surf conventional rod

Started by JasonGotaProblem, August 29, 2022, 10:32:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JasonGotaProblem

I decided not to decorate this one. It's my first attempt, and i didn't wanna risk making a cool looking rod that doesn't function well. In fact I decided to go all black. Black fuji guides tip and seat, and I went over the stripped down graphite blank with epoxy with a dab of black tint mixed in.

I used an LC-20 LC-16 HN-12, and 4 MN-10 guides (all guides reversed for coolness factor) and a MN 10-10 tip. The first guide is 30" from the reel seat, and the line never touches no matter how I bend it. The rod started life as a penn squadron 3 10' spinning rod. Its listed as graphite composite but it seems to be on the graphite side of that mix, very light weight after the original hardware removed.

I built it for the abu ultra mag XLV, first cast I threw 4oz of lead well over 100 yds, 2nd cast closer to 130 yds. 3rd cast I got such a ratnest I cut off 60yds of line and swore off mono forever. I respooled with 65# braid today and wanna test cast more but there's a ton of lightning. I also wanna try it with the 622.

And I have officially run out of spots for it in my rod holder. All those are my own builds. I may have a problem.

Any machine is a smoke machine if you use it wrong enough.

jurelometer

Good job!  I think that you might want to consider going to lower profile bottom guides on future conventional builds.  Unlike spinners, conventional reels are close to the blank, so you do not need to make a tradeoff between tall guides for better casting and short guides for being able to load the bottom half of the rod (especially important for fighting big fish, but might also help a bit on the cast).

If you are a birds nest hater, you are probably going to be less happy with braid than with mono. Braid backlashes more easily, and is harder to clear.