Different colour on Yamaha grease?

Started by Drisse, November 08, 2022, 12:18:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Drisse

Hi folks!

I've never used the Yamaha grease before, but today I went to the local Yamahadealer to buy some. They only had a tube called Yamalube Lical Grease. I asked if it was the blue marine grease. They told me that it was the right grease, but it had a new beige colour. They didn't know why Yamaha changed colour on it? But I didn't buy it. But they were nice and gave me a little sample. Could it be right that it is the same as the blue grease?

RowdyW

Yamaha Marine Grease is still blue. Marine Grease is for use in saltwater & is resistant to salt water.      Rudy

Donnyboat

I see in Western Australia, they are now selling a green grease, I think it is processed in New Zealand, it had something to do with the trouble of transporting the original around the World, when the covid restictions were on. I really think if its not blue, dont buy it, good luck, cheers Don.
Don, or donnyboat

philaroman

what's "LICAL" ?
is it lithium grease, rather than "marine"?
don't remember how/why it's bad for reels
quick to emulsify in S/W, maybe ???

Drisse

Quote from: RowdyW on November 08, 2022, 01:10:33 AMYamaha Marine Grease is still blue. Marine Grease is for use in saltwater & is resistant to salt water.      Rudy

Rudy, the seller told me they used this as allaround grease, but mostly for propeller axles. But I will keep on looking for the right blue grease. But my local Yamaha shop couldn't help me with it.

Drisse

Quote from: Donnyboat on November 08, 2022, 01:17:45 AMI see in Western Australia, they are now selling a green grease, I think it is processed in New Zealand, it had something to do with the trouble of transporting the original around the World, when the covid restictions were on. I really think if its not blue, dont buy it, good luck, cheers Don.

Thanks Donnyboat. I will keep on looking for the right blue grease.

Drisse