Penn GS555 vs Daiwa Sealine-x 50sha

Started by tacoma09, February 16, 2012, 10:35:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tacoma09

Which of the two reel is better overall?   ???

I looking more towards the penn  b/c of the better drag setup.  What is everyones take on these reels for small game.

Mark

alantani

pretty much a toss up.  just change out the drags in the daiwa to carbon fiber, then grease either one. 
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

reelynuts

I have no experience with the Penn GS555. I am a big "Penn guy", and I do believe that often the materials that they use in their reels is superior over the overseas brands. I notice things like the hardness of the metals used in their anti-reverse dogs, and the fact that the ball bearings in many of their old reels with ball bearings still perform after many years of rinsing with freshwater as many people say should not be done. Etc., Etc., Etc..

Now, on the other hand, I do own and use the Diawa X50sha. In fact, I liked it so much after I used it that I bought a second one. Mine have both been dis-assembled and re-assembled with extra grease, and I must admit that I was impressed with the inner workings of the reel. Nice big drag washers (I have not yet installed greased carbon fiber washers, but I will-eventually) and the "SEALED" main gear/drag washer chamber (however you want to label it) seemed well thought out, simple, logical, and effective. I really like this feature. I often wonder if Diawa did this because they knew that oil or water would contaminate the drag washers (as Alan always discusses) leading to the "jerky" drag problem, and I wonder if they have reason to believe that sealing them is a cure. Could they be right? ???

I have not owned or used these Diawas long enough to offer an opinion based on actual experience, and can only say that for performance- so far-so good.