Question: What type of grease is best?

Started by Homer Hiers, June 21, 2023, 12:17:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Homer Hiers

I'm new to repairing reels and I wanted to gauge everyone opinions on what type of grease is best to use with what components. I know I should grease my drags but do I have to use Cals? Can I just use Cals on everything? Are there times where I should use oil instead of grease? What about a light PTFE grease like Superlube? Obviously these answers may vary depending on the reel in hand but I'm just looking for general advice.

Looking forward to hearing your opinions.
Foul-hookin' b-liners on fire rock

jurelometer

There is a 36 page thread on lubricants  and the top of the Tools and Lubricants board that is worth a read, but to answer your question:

Cal's on everything that needs grease is fine.  Folks that do hundreds of reels just like to use less expensive "marine grease" on the rest of the reel and save the Cal's for carbon fiber drag washers. 

Many of the pros here that do big game reels stick with Cal's, especially for the drag washers, under the theory of "if it ain't broke, don't fix it".

Cal's also contains PTFE.

Super Lube has been gaining popularity here.  Inexpensive and less toxicity worries for handling, as it is rated for incidental food contact. It also has a PTFE additive and a high dropping point temperature, making it suitable for both general purpose and drag usage.  I haven't seen any problems reported here. It doesn't separate in storage, or at least not as quickly as Cal's.  I think that it is better than Cal's by far for  drag grease on cork fly reels.

There are other greases that folk like as well.  If you are not doing a lot of reels, get one that works for both drags and general use.  Outside of the drag, reels are not very demanding pieces of machinery.