Newell bar ?

Started by BogueSounder, February 29, 2012, 05:26:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BogueSounder

Hi Folks,
A newbie here. I have rebuilt / upgraded the drags on 6 of my old penns with the help of this group - thank you all (my wife does not thank you at all)! This is addictive...almost if not worse than fishing itself???

I just purchased a Penn 140 converted to a 146. It has an aluminum spool and solid cross bars that I assume are Newell. I think this is going to be a great reel for me. I have never actually owned a Newell reel and was wondering if you could help me determine the make of the spool (Penn or Newell) and the bars (Newell I assume?).

I am going to attach some pics of the cross bars and the spool to see if you have any idea based on markings or lack thereof.  While I read the Newell bars are aluminum, they feel more like composite with concealed aluminum going through the location of stock penn bars. It does have a sliver of an aluminum rod exposed on the bottom. No markings on the back.

The spool does have the line tie pin in the middle of the spool if that is any indication as well.

And for the pain, the side plate is cracked right at the drag stack...ugh. So now I'm on the hunt for that...always something I guess. Other than that crack, the reel is in great shape.

So, any thoughts on the parts ID? Thank you again for your help. Excellent forum!

Mark

alantani

the bars are newell, not sure about the spool.

i have a beat up side plate i can send you.  send a pm with your shipping info if you'd like it. 
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

BogueSounder

Alan,
Thank you Alan for the response and your offer. I will send you a PM.

At the risk of sounding like a fool, I'll ramble on a bit more about these parts.