Reel Repair Work Bench Organization

Started by Crab Pot, June 30, 2023, 05:08:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Crab Pot

Ok, I'm new to reel maintenance, repairs, and building but my wife is already tired of my work area being the dinning room table.

I'd like to see how you "Pro's" organize your work stations/benches to get some inspiration.

Thanks
Buy it nice or buy it twice.

Brewcrafter

tough question to ask; it has a lot to do with "scope".  If you are doing this or thinking of doing this as a business your needs are 100% different than most of us.  For myself as a hobbyist, here is what I think is important:
An area to work.  I have my workbench.  It handles many projects that may or may not be fishing related but the important thing is that it is a sacred space - I decide what goes where.
Tools.  Organized tools.  You need to know what you have, and where. 
Parts - This is the tricky part.  I do NOT do this as a business, but I save odd parts from reel builds, etc.  It is Critical in my mind is to A - Have Stuff labelled (part #, description) and have it in a meaningful order where you can find it (looking for a Penn gear in a bunch of Mitchell parts - waste of time).  You are going to see a lot of input to this thread and keep in mind it does not matter the value of a part (or a tool) if you cannot find it - it is zero.  I am sure Fred will comment, and while most of us cannot comprehend organization of old parts on that level, he and the other Old Reel Gurus on this site realize that if you have it and cannot find it that it's useless and has no value.  Long story short, tossing parts in a box will eventually come back to haunt you...  For me, my extra reel parts are all enveloped by part and part#, but again as I am a hobbiest and do not do this for a living they pretty much fill up a milk crate. - john

philaroman

https://alantani.com/index.php/topic,16672.90.html

...or, you can just search AT for "organization" [by user] "foakes"