Beginner Looking for Help on Cheap Spinning Reels

Started by Clutch, August 14, 2023, 02:56:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Clutch

Hello All.

Stumbled onto this board linked from another when I went searching for what grease might be good for fishing reels. 

So I am a complete newbie when it comes to reels of really any type.  I used to fish way back when I was a youngin', and am starting to get back into it more with my own little ones.  As part of some cleaning out of a relative's basement, I was given a number of reels, some of which are a little sentimental, even if they dont have any real value as far as cost goes. 

They include a Daiwa B-130RL, a Zebco Pro Staff PSG20, a Shakespeare 100 Long Cast, and a couple Abu Garcia Cardinal Broncos. 

These reels have never been serviced, cleaned, greased, etc. at all.  What I was looking for was some help or advice on the best way to go about cleaning them up externally (they are dusty/dirty/oily), and then what a good plan is for getting them lubed and ready to go on a rod when one of my kids inevitably destroys the cheapie reel that they have now.

Im fairly mechanically inclined, and already have a number of oils/greases/cleaners, but dont know if this is a situation where I should really get the "right" stuff.  Should I be starting with something like WD-40 or Ballistol for an initial scrub?  What should I know that I shouldnt spray down or get solvents on? 

I see that 2nd Chance Tackle on YouTube has a couple of the reels that are in my list, and thats helpful for seeing how they can come apart/go together, but he is spraying with WD-40, using a cotton swab to clean out the inside, and some new grease.  Is it that simple, or is there a better approach?

Sorry for the long winded first post, but wanted to try and explain where Im coming from.  Would like to try and do it right the first time and learn a little in the process.

Thanks in advance for any input you might have!

reelynew

Hi there and welcome,