NEW GUY TO SMF

Started by LTM, March 20, 2012, 07:18:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

LTM

HELLO GUYS,

This is my first time posting to any forum, so please bear with me on my simplicity.  First I would like to say hello to all members and thank Alan T for starting this excellent forum.  A little about me.  I'm entering forced retirement reluctantly (back injury), but still looking forward to some part-time teaching.  I've been "Blue Water (aka Ocean)" fishing for approx 30 years (ocean much closer than fresh water). Im located in So Cal/LA area (for the time-being), and have only been on a handful of "Long Range" trips (Alijos, Clarion).  When I do go fishing it's usually over-nite trips (often re-riding for another day) or 2-3 day trips (chasing Albacore or San Diego to fish Mexico).  I started servicing my own reels from day-one w/varing results and sent my more expensive reels to tackle shops for servicing.  Over time I started to service my expensive reels as my personal experience increased. I've had the good fortune to look over the shoulder of a good friend (20+ yrs) who runs a tackle store that does reel repairs and rod building (Pete W. @ Just Fishing) and I have learned so much more. I ran across this site about 4 years ago and have taken my repairs/mods to the next level thanx to all of your contributions. My tackle ranges from Diawa Coastal 153h to Avet EX PRO 4/0-2, old and new Calstar/Seeker/Shimano rods.  I love light-line fishing and using jigs and plastics.  I've placed in some of the local ocean tourniments, and dont get into the jack-pot on the local boats (just kills my enjoyment). Im a very discriminating shopper (my engineering background) so I believe in researching all that I purchase (wish I knew about this site prior to some of my reel purchases).