Long Beach 67 Question

Started by mryanh, February 10, 2012, 01:41:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mryanh

First of all I really want to say thanks to this website....It's given me a new hobby and help me to repair many old penns and bring them back to life. This is my first time posting...telling you that many of my questions have already been answered by browsing the forum.

I recently picked up on an old Long Beach 67 really cheap. I didn't really need it but it gives me something to play around with.  I've read on here a couple of times that its really not worth investing money into but when I tore it down I noticed something different from other Penns I've broken down. The main gear appears to be stainless steel. Are my eyes deceiving me? I've tried to look it up and have yet to find anything about a stainless steel gear. Also....if this is the case, is it worth it to invest in a ss gear sleeve and try the 5+1 using 6-60 drags?

akfish

The earliest Penn 67s (and other reels) had SS main gears. These are stronger, but did tend to rust, so keep a coat of grease on it. A SS gear sleeve and 5+1 drag stack would beef up the reel, but remember that you'll still end of with a very, very slow 2.5:1 gear ratio. If you are't fishing deep that might be OK, but I, personally, would't want to have to fish it.
Taku Reel Repair
Juneau, Alaska

mryanh

Thanks akfish...considering the fact that I'm pretty used to the Senator speeds, the gear ratio doesn't bother me that much. I was really just looking for an extra reel to bring along in the boat and on the pier when my buddy visits to let him catch up to medium size sharks (typically we'll end up catching nothing but ginormous rays). Like I said...I paid very little for this reel, so to find a ss main gear, and might I add that it looks brand new, I think I might just go ahead and beef this baby up.

Alto Mare