I have to trim a reel seat

Started by Eatmycatch, April 12, 2012, 05:57:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Eatmycatch

I bought a graphite rod that I want to use an old Penn on that will not fit in the reel seat on the rod. Now I know the reel seat on the reel is crome over brass...

If I take a dremel and trim down the seat to fit in the rod...I will have exposed brass..Is there something I can put over the exposed brass to prevent corrosion? Crome Paint?,.....anything? Or should I not trim the seat at all and just use a different reel??

alantani

which reel?  grinding it down should not be a problem. 
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

broschro

Slap a coat of paint over it and it should be just fine. :D :D

Keta

What reel? 

A 30-66 is interchangeable with a 30-209 and the 209 part fits a small rod, I have a Surfmaster 150 I put a 30-209 base on.  Penn has replaced the 30-209 with the 30-66 now.
Hi, my name is Lee and I have a fishing gear problem.

I have all of the answers, yup, no, maybe.

A man who carries a cat by the tail learns something he can learn in no other way.
Mark Twain

Irish Jigger

The 30-66 is now stainless steel.

Eatmycatch

I have two of them, actually that are small light & would fit perfectly with a light fluking setup. They are both old penns. One is a 160 the other is a squidder 146. I don't need a strong drag for either one of the reels, fishing for fluke. Niether will fit into the bottom part of the reel seat. I even have a new Avet SX that is supposed to have the smaller seat and that barely fits. The top fits fine but rounded bottom part just, the very corners of the reel seat fit into the pole, not that I would use the Avet SX for this app, just to give you an example.

Two things I don't like are
1- I'm afraid to tight it too much in fear of cracking the graphite seat because just the corners of the reel seat are hitting any of the graphite