Penn Reel Grease for Drags?

Started by jacobcbass, June 13, 2009, 07:58:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jacobcbass

I'm new to reel repair and I keep reading about greasing my Drag washers but no one is saying what type/kind of grease I should be using. Will my Penn Reel Grease work or should I buy something else? I'm only working on my own reels so keeping cost down is always good. Thank you for you imput.

alantani

there are pure teflon drag greases made by shimano, cal's and xtreme reel +.  any one of these will work for drag washers, but do not use a petroleum or silicone based grease for this purpose.  alan
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

cmaraj1

i was also wondering about this, so dont use penn grease for drag washers.....
is there anything from homedepot that i could use for dragwashers?

Dr. Jekyll - AKA MeL B

penn blue grease is hydrocarbon based and tend to get sticky in the long run while Cal's and Shimano's are teflon based and will not become sticky. i've been using Cal's since March last yr and so far so good. i also use LSD oil and seems to work but needs more testing...

Shark Hunter

Life is Good!

TomT