Older Penn 50 locked up

Started by Sea-Hunt, June 09, 2012, 03:49:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sea-Hunt

Newbie here so I hope someone can help me.  I have an older Penn 50 (no other letters or numbers) that locked up on me the other day.  After reading the other similar disassembly procedures on this site, I still need some help.

I took the reel apart, but here is my question.  I'm down to the shaft and gear assembly still stuck in the reel.  Part #'s are 5, 119, and 134 (118 screws did come out).  The gear assembly on this reel is a little different than other 30's or 50's.  The gear is actually in a cut in the housing (part #1).  I shaft and gear will not turn.  I assume that there is corrosion or other material in the shaft race?  How can I get the gear off the shaft?  Am I missing a pin or something?  Gear puller?  I sprayed a penetrant oil in the shaft on both sides to see if it would come free.

Any help would be appreciated.  I can post some pics if needed.

Thanks so much for this website and any help!

Sea Hunt

Gaujo

I just rebuilt 2 of these, but i do not follow your description.  If you post some pictures I'm sure we can help you.  First off describe ur drag setup.  4 tiny screws or 3 tabs on the drag cover?  Bblack plastic or metal dog catchers?  The year of manuf is the first 2 #s on the inside of one of the plates, facing the reel.
Nothing but friends & fins on alantani.com

alantani

can you pick out a schematic for us?  https://www.mysticparts.com/PennParts/International.aspx

"Edited as per Moderators to correct Scott's Bait & Tackle over to their new store name Mystic Reel Parts / www.mysticparts.com"
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

Sea-Hunt