TSI 301 versus Hot Sauce

Started by Rockfish1, June 13, 2012, 07:06:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rockfish1

Hello All from the Chesapeake.....newbie here - decided to stop lurking and actually sign up!

I realize that it seems most here are heavily into bigger tackle than I am, but here goes.

My first question (for Alan or anyone with experience in this) is:  Probably 90% of my reel maintenance is on small baitcasters......love my old Shimano BMP250's for instance.  The bearings are 3x10x4's in those.....fully shielded.  I've been cleaning by soaking in naptha or 90% IPA (no - not beer - isopropanol is IPA to those of us in the chemical's world), followed by a light compressed air blow, resoak, then set bearing flat on a throwaway diaper and blow again.

Yes...a diaper:  Pampers are about the most absorbent thing on the planet....they'll suck moisture/fluid out of stone!

After cleaning I've been putting a drop of Hot Sauce on next to the inner race and spinning the bearing stuck on a pipe cleaner to distribute, wipe any excess and install.

If anyone knows a better regimen for clean/lube - I'd love to hear it.

I'm not real happy with the longevity of Hot Sauce on the bearings and wonder if anyone here has experience using TSI 301 or 321 on these small bearings that one wants to be really fast??  I've tried Rocket Fuel, and a couple of others and really didn't get much better performance than Hot Sauce so far.

Question #2: I'm hesitant to try removing shields on these itty bitty bearings - and most everything I see on Boca, etc. is also full shields.  Anybody know where to get SS Abec 5's or better with just one side shielded in the little 3x10x4 size?

By the way: Rockfish is Marylandese for Striped Bass........we LOVE 'em out here!  It's a real rush when a Rock SMASHES a popping plug!