Okuma Reel maintenance questions from a first timer

Started by Mattymo92, July 02, 2012, 03:12:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mattymo92

This weekend I decided that I would take my first attempt ever completely disassembling, cleaning, and regreasing and oiling one of my reels.. Since I have never done so before I decided to try it on a cheap reel that I wouldn't miss too much if I messsed it up, so I did an Okuma Fin Chaser Model FN-90-65Yb from an old, cheap (but suprisingly dependable) combo I bought a few summers ago when first getting into surf fishing.. Everything seemed to go along flawlessly except for one thing.. The anti-reverse switch slid right out along with another small peice before I got a chance to see how it fit together.. The small peice looks like a small U shaped piece of metal. Im still having trouble figuring it out how to get it back in the reel.. If anyone knows a site where I could find schematics I would really appreciate it.. I emailed Okuma but am still yet to get a response about schematics. My other problem is that the reel feels very sluggish now. It is smooth but just feels slow and almost labored to turn. If i were to spin it as fast as I can and let go the handle spins maybe twice and will come to a dead hault where as before it would just keep on spinning nice and smooth. Does anyone know what mistake I may have made? Maybe too much grease? Too little? I know its a cheap reel but I don't really want to be down a reel since I still use it often and also because I would like to know what mistakes I might have made before I attempt to do any other reels... I have a NIB 9500SS that probably needs some new grease after sitting in a case for years so after I understand my mistakes Im eventually gonna give it a try (at least I have schematics for that one.) Thank you in advance for any help. I really appreciate it.

- Matt M.

redsetta

G'day and welcome Matt,
Here's a schematic for the 65-80, which may be of some assistance: