bearing question?

Started by galaxyc3, July 07, 2012, 01:38:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

galaxyc3

i have two vintage ambassaduers, a 6000 (030902) and a 4-screw 5000 (392014) and im wanting to put bearings in both of them, problem is im not sure what size to get seeing as im new to all this. i saw in another post with a similar 6000 the size 3.175 x 10 x 4 but when i searched boca i had no results for that size.

does anyone know the size i should use? (if not how can i find out?)
and anyone know a place to get a decent quality handle at a good (cheap lol) price?

also i searched ebay for bearings and some of them said mini, but they still had the same measurements on them (example 3 x 10 x 4), is there a difference? or do some people just call them mini cause there small?

these reels have sentimental value seeing as my papaw gave them to me, and id like to get them in tip top shape and make take them fishing with us if i get the time to go with him again (complicated work schedule), he probably aint used them in over a decade if not more.

GulfOfBothnia

Hi,

Safest way to go is to measure the spool shaft diameter. It could be 3 or 3.175 mm. Most likely 3mm.
Open the 3 captive screws from the right (handle) side plate and pull the whole assembly off. Now you can measure the spool shaft diameter.
Just watch out that you don't lose the break blocks that are in the spool shaft pin.

If bearing spec says 3x10x4 that's all you need to know. No matter if it is called miniature bearing or not.

I have heard stories that putting bearings into old ambassadeur does not necessary work well. The old bushings are self-centering but new bearings are not.
The result depends on how well all parts align with each other.  Remember this is just what I have read/heard. No experience on this.
It would be interesting to test anyway.

Hope this helps.