Avet MXL Bearings

Started by jbjyard, August 06, 2012, 07:16:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jbjyard

Can someone help me out with the sizes and number of bearings in the Avet MXL? I have searched around this website and only found the Spool Bearing sizes (.185x.5x.195 & .185x.311x.125) in my search. I would also like to know which bearings would be my best choice. Thanks in advance!

-John

alantani

the big bearing goes on the left side and the small bearing goes on the right. anything in an abec 5 stainless would be fine!
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

jbjyard

Alan, thank you for your reply. I was looking for the sizes of the other bearings within the reel. I would like to replace every bearing while I have it apart. Would ceramic be better than stainless? I am new to all of this and would like to do things right the first time. Thanks again!

-John

Bryan Young

Hi John,

If you are fishing in salt water, then stick with all stainless.

Bryan
:D I talk with every part I send out and each reel I repair so that they perform at the top of their game. :D

jbjyard

Bryan, yes. I am fishing salt water. I figured a ceramic bearing would have more longevity than a stainless bearing. What are the differences? I guess I need to do a little more research.

-John

Bryan Young

The ceramic bearings have SS races and still need to be lubricated, which do not do so well with ceramic balls.  Therefore, SS bearings will be your best option since both the bearings and balls get lubricated and function well, lubricated, together. 
:D I talk with every part I send out and each reel I repair so that they perform at the top of their game. :D

skered53

Are these metric or inch pattern bearings ( yes I have a FN, Rhodesian if you need to know),  I assume I can get them from Boca Bearings when the time comes, and lastly...........  is there a list out there that converts from the Avet part number industry number , ie MR688-ZZ

Bryan Young