Screaming Noise From 6500CS

Started by westcoaster, August 09, 2012, 08:32:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

westcoaster

Hello All,

I though I would post this question here after getting such great help with my Penn 49.  Was out today chasing pink salmon at lunch and about half way through my reel started making the most horrific screaming sound, casting with the check off.  It would still cast, but every time I would really haul it out there it would repeat the sound.  If the cast was just lobbed there were not problems.  I am going to give it a full strip down and clean tonight, is there anything I should check specifically?  Could the bearing need to be cleaned and oiled?  I have had the reel for a number of years, but have taken care of it so the issue should hopefully not be a major one.  Thanks for any help.

Cheers,

kamuwela

im no expert but sounds like bearings

Bryan Young

Possibly the pinion is not disengaging enough for complete freespool
:D I talk with every part I send out and each reel I repair so that they perform at the top of their game. :D

Ken_D

Hio,. The above inputs are accurate, but I would also check the idler gear for lube on the non crank side. If it's a gear with a dimple, cut the dimple off with an olfa knife, and put an e-clip like they did in the past. You may need to chamfer the bore a bit. This will make it easy to both remove the gear later, and let some oil past the dimple.

If the gear alsready has an e-clip, dribble a bit of oil down onto the post.

Then, check the two centrifugal weights for squeak, by taking a cotton bud (q-tip) with a little oil on it and swab the ring (on the brake plate) where the weights go.

While you have the axle and spool out of the reel, to oil the bearings, gently push down on the axle stub on the gear side. It should float up and down a few thou. If it's not bouncing the copper shim underneath has gone flat, and needs to be re-bent, to let the axle float.