Thinking of converting a 12lt

Started by thunnus69, September 26, 2012, 01:53:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

thunnus69

Any thoughts about converting a 12lt to fish 50# braid?  Cals does this (their super12) but I have no experience with CAls.  Cost is $160 but I picked up the reel for $137 in good used condition.  Does Alan or anyone in the community do this kind of work.

Also CAl charges $40 extra for "double dogs".  Is this worth doing with the conversion?
Thanks,
Joe 

LTM

Thunnus,

Interesting name, how do you pronounce it?  Anywho Cal Sheets is god for International reels and know the world over by pro saltwater fishermen. Alan has a post on "blueprinting" that's great, that should net you the results that your looking for. You wont believe the cost for the parts (piece of tubing from the hobby/hardware store) to effect "blueprinting". Someone will comment/referr you to the process.

Hold on for more info,

Leo

day0ne

Quote from: LTM on September 26, 2012, 07:41:34 PM
Thunnus,

Interesting name, how do you pronounce it?  Anywho Cal Sheets is god for International reels and know the world over by pro saltwater fishermen. Alan has a post on "blueprinting" that's great, that should net you the results that your looking for. You wont believe the cost for the parts (piece of tubing from the hobby/hardware store) to effect "blueprinting". Someone will comment/referr you to the process.

Hold on for more info,

Leo