The Right Stuff and Where to Apply It - Solvents & Lubricants

Started by MBSURF, December 18, 2012, 09:27:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MBSURF

I am new to surf fishing and this is a great forum.  I found a couple of my father's old reels and am surf fishing on Miami Beach.  I am refurbishing a Black Penn 704Z.  All of the grease is dried and caked on the gears. Through reading the postings I have determined that reel oil should be used for the bearings, grease (preferably Yamaha marine grease) for gears, specified drag grease for the drag and corrosion x for all other parts.   However, what should I use to actually CLEAN the parts with before applying all of the lubricants?  Also, what should I definitely avoid applying to the wrong areas?  For instance, should grease and corrosion x be applied to the entire spool shaft? Or just grease the lower part in the housing and just corrosion x the part in the rotor cup?  Maybe I'm thinking too much but, I do not want to irreparably damage anything.  Thanks.

Nessie Hunter

Spinning reels are good with Grease in all areas (except drags)...

Casting reels cast with spool spinning so need light lube in Spool bearings to spin fast..

Spinning reels dont have that issue.   
Pack bearings with good quality MARINE grease (it has corrosion inhibitors in it for saltwater use).
Clean all the old grease out (many choices in how & what to use)..
R-grease all internal areas, shafts & gears.
Paint everything with same grease (prevents water intrusion or water contact with metals etc).

Use Drag Grease (Cals or Shimano) in Drag stack...  Your done...   :-)

"Life is not a journey to the grave with the intentions of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body. But rather to slide in sideways, thoroughly used up, totally worn out and loudly proclaiming....
WOW!!! WHAT A RIDE!

MBSURF

johndtuttle

Quote from: MBSURF on December 18, 2012, 09:27:32 PM