C454-5

Started by shearb, January 06, 2013, 05:28:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

shearb

Hey guys,

I have a tiburon frame on my Newell and I took it apart recently to grease the guts... now that its together it seems my spool is loose, when i tilt my reel up/down/sideways i can hear different noise almost like its grinding, but i dont think it is. Is there a way to tighten my spool? When I took it apart again to look at it the gears where they connect maybe the pinion and main gear? the pinion gear seems to be pretty loose, it movies way more freely then it should be which i think causes the noise. Im pretty new to the whole take apart reels scene so sorry for the written confusion. Any help will be appericated!

Brian

(I want to added some carbon fiber drags as well, best place to buy?)

Keta

Quote from: shearb on January 06, 2013, 05:28:57 PM

(I want to added some carbon fiber drags as well, best place to buy?)

Smooth Drag
Hi, my name is Lee and I have a fishing gear problem.

I have all of the answers, yup, no, maybe.

A man who carries a cat by the tail learns something he can learn in no other way.
Mark Twain

shearb

Carontex? Should I just order from the website? Also what is the bearing cap for "end play" I dont understand the purpose? Should it be screwed tight??

alantani

try adjusting the end caps to center the spool.  if the right side bearing cap is not adjustable AND the spool makes noise when tipped to the right, then you may need a washer to shim the bearing. 
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

Keta

Quote from: shearb on January 06, 2013, 05:38:15 PM
Carontex? Should I just order from the website?
Yes and yes, if you can't find what you want give Dawn a call.  I'm totaly clueless on Newell reels.
Hi, my name is Lee and I have a fishing gear problem.

I have all of the answers, yup, no, maybe.

A man who carries a cat by the tail learns something he can learn in no other way.
Mark Twain

shearb