Magda Pro 15/20 DX

Started by Ripp, January 18, 2013, 09:21:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ripp

Hi, all.

I'm new to this, so please bear with me.

I've recently finished my first, yearly, reel servicing on two used 15's assisted by schematics and parts lists from the boxes of two new 15's, also used as fresh examples to guide proper re-assembly.  I'm supprised that the schematics are not accurate, though, I've read Alan's remark that this is sometimes the case.  I cleaned everything thoroughly, as recommended by someone, in preparation to use Quantum hot sauce grease and oil.  I was not aggressive cleaning and lubing the bearings and paid little attention to the drag washers. I have, subsequently, discovered this forum and plan to give it another try.  I intend to break down the two new 15's and tune them, as well.
In the process, I discovered a "stud" in place of a screw.

So, first question...Where can I reliably order parts?  Sounds like Okuma is trouble, as is Mike's.  Tuna's for drag washers.  Screws and real little washers?

Also, I have three 20's, for slightly larger fish, which seem, again, according to the schematics and parts lists, clones of the 15's, with, roughly, 71 out of 81 parts in common.  In a effort to discover why the 20's feel "glitchier" than the 15's, I disassembled them, as well.  Much to my supprise, the metal hold plate had been "upgraded" to a circular plastic plate, supporting an additional plastic bushing on the handle side of the spool.  Also, the drive gear shaft assembly and its clutch slider is different, as well, and seems to be the source of the "glitchy" behavior.  Swapping comparible parts from a 15 to a 20 was not a perfict fit as expected.  There seemed to be some binding.

Second question...Is this "downgrade" doable?   And, where can I get parts?

Mike in Oregon City

Jimmer