Help with a Penn Longbeach 66

Started by johnsnz, January 21, 2013, 04:01:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

johnsnz

Hi,

I recently picked up a rod and reel from the local thrift store for the princely sum of NZ$8.00.

The reel is a Penn Long beach 66 and the rod is a NZ locally made Killwell Silver boat rod with nice Fuji guides. I've never worked on a fishing rod or reel before. But some what nervously I have stripped the rod down and have restored the rod and re wrapped the guides etc. I have also stripped down the reel and identified that it's missing a few vital bits like the spring for the dog and a couple of screws are also AWOL. I found the re assembly tutorials here and the schematics at Mysticparts really helpful.  I have order my missing parts from Mysticparts but was wondering if someone can advise me how to convert the original 3 washer drag system to a carbon fibre drag system. Is there a 3 washer carbon drag or do you need to upgrade to a 5 washer drag??

Any help much appreciated...
Thanks in advance

"Edited as per Moderators to correct Scott's Bait & Tackle over to their new store name Mystic Reel Parts / www.mysticparts.com"

Ron Jones

Welcome to Mr. Tani's wild ride Kiwi John!

You can replace your original washers with stock Penn HT-100 washers no problem, everyone on here will recommend a coat of Cal's drag grease. I really like your reel, assuming everything else is in good working order CF drags will get it where you need to be. If you are willing to splurge, one of Allen's SS gear sleeves would be nice as well.

Ron
Ronald Jones
To those who have gone to sea and returned and to those who have gone to sea and will never return
"

alantani