Documentation on different side plates, colors etc on Penn reels

Started by Mandelstam, April 14, 2013, 08:47:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mandelstam

Even as a Penn noob I have already noticed that a lot of Penn models has gone through a lot of "visual" changes through the years. The design on the side plates change, the color, handles, etc, etc.

Is there any documentation available on these different design changes? I'd love to have a large coffee table book full of beautiful photographs but I'd settle for a small collectors guide as well. I did a quick Amazon search and didn't find anything.

/Karl
"Fish," he said softly, aloud, "I'll stay with you until I am dead." - Santiago, Old Man And the Sea

dogdad1

I just stumbled across this question while researching another question, but it has been puzzling me for quite awhile so I thought I'd blow the dust off it and hang it out there again.  (thanks Mandelstam, for asking the first time).

Yeah, why did Penn go thru the different 'visual' changes over the years?  Was it a foresighted joke on someone's part that we'd be stumbling around decades in the future, trying to rationalize a roll-of-the-dice handle color decision?  Did they hold a lottery to see who got to re-design the latest jumping-fish side-plate design?  Or was there a rhyme-for-the reason?

I've seen a lot of folks speak with conviction that a reels' age can't be judged by its color, and that box-design was somewhat random after all, but like Mandelstam asks: Do we really know what happened why, and is there actual documentation of any of the changes?

Maybe we can create a database here to see the trends (or facts)?
"Few things are quite as dangerous or unpredictable as an Engineer with too much time on his hands". - unknown

harryk3616