Daiwa Sealine SL175H

Started by The Irishman, April 22, 2013, 02:01:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

The Irishman

Hi Everybody,
This is my first ever post so here goes.......

I have a Daiwa Sealine SL175H that my parents bought me for my 11th birthday (back in 1989 in case you're wondering). It was my pride and joy but as I got into my teenage years my fishing became less frequent and it was largely unused until I moved to Sydney, Australia in 2006 where my passion was reignited.

So last year, on trip home, I dug it out of the attic and to my surprise it was in excellent condition. I did fish with it recently but was horrified at how badly the drag performed so I researched the issue and found that carbontex washers is the answer. So I studied up on how to fit the drag washers and replaced them with some carbontex ones that I made from Carbontex sheets that I got online. I am really happy with the drag now however because the carbontex washers are thinner than the originals, I can now turn the star cog so far that it is rubs against the body of the reel and I cannot turn it any further. Can anybody advise my how to overcome this issue please?

Also, would it be worth my while replacing the bushes with ball bearings on this reel? Or is it not worth it?

Thanks for reading.
Cheers,
Pete

Ron Jones

Many Diawa reels use a gear sleeve similar to Penns. If this is the case with yours any of the spacers sold for an appropriate reel will fix your tension issue.

You've opened Pandora's box with the bearing question.
Ron
Ronald Jones
To those who have gone to sea and returned and to those who have gone to sea and will never return
"

alantani

stainess steel shim washers will do the trick.  you could also add back one of the original washer to just use as a spacer.  it actually would work.
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

Bigfish