Rod and Reel Setup theory

Started by mrbrklyn, May 12, 2013, 06:08:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mrbrklyn

I've been fishing fairly regulary off the boats for nearly 15 years, but just don't understand what the heck makes a good reel setup.  I read through the articles posted here on rod balance and drag, but basic theory is just missing.  Whenever I look over my shoulder it always looks like the guys catching the most fish have nearly frsh water rigs going for strippers and big fluke.

So I also read Alan's posting on 20 lb reels, and I just don't get it.  It seems my reels, which are Penn GTI 320's, seem to not even make his list.  Are these reels too big for stripers, and bottom fishing?

My two basic rods are a Seeker BA 30-7 which says it specs at 25(30)  40lb.  So even a nice sized 35 inch Striper will weigh in at about 30 pounds.  The drag should be something about 10 pounds?
I was using a braided filiment with a 20lb mono shocker on it.

The other rod, is the new one, which is an Ugly Stick tiger Lite "jigging" which specks as a 7'0" 14-40 lb line.  its a couple of inches shorter than my Seeker, but much lighter.  I just have felt that I can't adequarely feel fish bites, especially bottom fish, but also stripers.

What would be a good real set up for normal party boat fishing?  These are the types of conversations I'd always hoped to have in the tackel stores, but these guys just either can't speak or won't pass on the hobby, which is wierd.  When you go to B&H the help can't wait to tell you all about the equiptment.

I'm not much of a fisherman either.  I seem to have never figured out what I'm feeling for with bottom fishing.  The weight is on the bottom and the bait is suspened a few inches up.  When the fish bites, who do you feel that?  The weight is acting to absorb the light nibbles, especially of a porgy.

Ruben

Ron Jones