Pitting on Penn Reel

Started by alleymize, March 03, 2010, 12:41:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

alleymize

I have a PENN Silver Beach No. 99 with a little bit of pitting on the side rings and am wondering if there is something I should do to fix it and then also what I should do to prevent it further? I have looked thru the boards and searched and did not find anything on the topic of fixing the pitting. I did see somewhere on Google that a guy suggested to use steel wool and scrub it till it is gone but wouldn't that also remove the chrome plating? And is there something like chrome plating touch up paint to fix it? Obviously I am new at this type of reel. I have been fishing a long time at the surf but always with a spin cast reel and finally decided to take it up a notch. Thanks for your time and any help.

Irish Jigger

Fit three new rings and it should look like a new reel. ;D

slgriffiths

Don't use steel wool!  
The look of the chrome will instantly deteriorate badly! It'll look blue and cloudy, and to be honest, you'll likely have more corrosion problems after you've done it.  It's way too coarse for this.
If you want to try a little Brasso, or a similar metal polish, to polish them up a little you can, but be careful to use a soft cloth, and not to polish too hard, or you'll put microscratches into the remaining chrome, with the same blue, scratched appearance that the wool will give you.  
Regard the corrosion spots as character, and after cleaning well, under hot running water (after you've disassembled the reel!) to remove any salt, rub some Cal's grease into the spots (that stuff sticks like s--t to a blanket), and that will inhibit the corrosion continuing.  Do that every time you use the reel, and it'll not get much worse.