140 SQUIDDER CONVERSION

Started by RUSTY OLD COLT, August 10, 2013, 09:21:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RUSTY OLD COLT

I RECENTLY PICKED UP A 140 SQUIDDER TO USE FOR BAY STRIPE BASS ON LONG ISLAND.  I PLAN TO CONVERT IT TO THE 145 SIZE WITH A TIBURON FRAME AND SPOOL .  ANY SUGGESTIONS FOR A ROUND BALL STYLE HANDLE AND ANY MODS FOR BEEFING UP THE INSIDES.......THANKS

alantani

go stepwise.  first the drags and a light coat of grease throughout the reel.  then the handle grip.  keep the old arm and just bolt on a new grip.  then decide if you need a frame,  chances are you will not. 
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

Ron Jones

Of course Alan knows best, but adding his stainless gear sleeve makes a very nice reel.
Ron
Ronald Jones
To those who have gone to sea and returned and to those who have gone to sea and will never return
"

alantani

thanks, but they are not necessary for drag settings of less than 5 pound.  ;D

schwamb1

Newbie here. I found this thread courtesy of Mo at PennParts. I have 4 Penn 140 Squidders that I want to clean up and get back into service that were passed down to me. They are all in decent to excellent shape. I removed the right hand side plate from the reel frame to get at the parts that need relubing and now find I cannot get it back on. It has 3 pins and bayonets into the frame. It was easy off and way to tight to go back. Can you offer any tips? I'm sure I'm not alone with this one.

alantani

find the slots on the frame where the nubs on the side plate fit.  the slots can be pried open a little with a flat screwdriver.  that might help.

bluefish69

If you took all 4 reels apart you could have switched the frames.

Mike
I have not failed.  I just found 10,000 ways that won't work.

Alto Mare

Quote from: bluefish69 on August 16, 2013, 09:22:44 PM
If you took all 4 reels apart you could have switched the frames.

Mike