Abu Reels: Stated Drag vs Measured Drag

Started by mahfudzmn, September 19, 2013, 08:03:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mahfudzmn

Hi folks,

I was working on a few of my reels after a saltwater trip. I have a Revo Alt, Kalex 50, 6500 CS Rocket, 6600 C4 which I cleaned and took apart since they wont be used for a few months. Problem is, once I've took them apart cleaned, lubed, and greased em to Alantani's spec, I noticed that the drag has lost some stopping power. Suspecting excess grease on the drag washers, I took them apart again and really cleaned of the excess grease then put them all back together and did something I've never done before, measure the drag stopping power of each reel.

Here's what I found when each reel was locked tight:

Revo Alt - 3kg (stated 5.5kg)
Kalex 50 - 3kg (stated 5.5kg)
6500 CS Rocket - 4kg (stated 6.8kg)
6600 C4 - 3.5kg (stated 6.8kg)

Worth noting that the line didn't slipped on the spool since I have mono backing on each of these reels.

All reels except the Kalex 50 have carbon washers standard from Abu. When I mentioned 'locked tight' I meant that it was locked to the hardest I think is fair before I break any of the reels. It's also worth mentioning I've never tried measuring the drag rating before, I decided to measure this because I thought something was off. I've checked everything including the belleville washers, all in () configuration.

Am I supposed to lock the drag in real tight? Also it seems like the drag force was increasing gently at first then only begins to spike once the star drag feels a bit tight to turn in further.

Thoughts, help, advices please!!

Dr. Jekyll - AKA MeL B

did you check the metal washers configuration. should be keyed eared keyed...let us know. as to locking the drag i never do that with my smaller abus, only set at 5 lbs = 2.27 kgs. hope this helps.

mahfudzmn