Penn 155 drag buildup even after service

Started by MichaelAngelo, November 20, 2013, 07:25:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MichaelAngelo

Hey guys, I have an old Penn 155 (beachmaster) that I plan to use for bait fishing.

It had a choppy drag so I ordered and replaced all the drag washers. Then it still had a choppy drag with unacceptable "buildup". It sounds like... zzzz (pause) zzzz (pause) zzzz (pause) when line is taken under drag. Not acceptable.

So I sent it in to an authorized Penn service center in my area. $10 shipping and $22 labour later, he tells me that he took it apart and had a look and it seemed fine. I asked him if he smoothed out the drag and he told me "as far as I can tell by pulling line off the reel".

I received it back, and it's exactly the same as when I first got it. I will be calling the service centre tomorrow and letting him know.

More importantly, what the heck could be causing this buildup if all of the drag washers are brand new?

alantani

any possibility that the spool is blown out (expanded under the pressure of the mono) and is scraping the bridge plate?  otherwise, just make sure the drags are greased. 
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

MichaelAngelo

Quote from: alantani on November 20, 2013, 07:31:04 PM
any possibility that the spool is blown out (expanded under the pressure of the mono) and is scraping the bridge plate?  otherwise, just make sure the drags are greased. 

Drags are lightly greased with Cal's.

Yesterday when I opened it up again, I noticed that the keyed metal washer (the one with ears) is bowl-shaped. I checked my 2 brand-new spares and none of them were flat. They were all ordered from Penn.  Is this normal?

Also, there is pitting on the bottom side of the main gear where it contacts part 4, the stiff Fiber washer.  Perhaps that could case this? 

Alan, how would I check for a warped spool?

Bryan Young

I would replace the fiber washer with a grease HT-100 or Carbontex.