Penn 114H Question

Started by broadway, April 15, 2010, 05:26:18 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

broadway

I just bought a used Penn 114H to find it has a plastic spool  :-\   I have heard a few stories about the plastic spools crackin' or exploding, whatcha think?  Also, I cracked her open to find two dog springs.  I was under the impression there was only one from Alan's tutorial.  Then I find three tension discs between the star drag and the spacing sleeve.  I thought there would only be two of 'em.  Maybe that's why, before I took her apart the drag wouldn't loosen?  I'm a newbie at this, however I've cracked about ten 4/0's open in the past month, and never found extra parts only missing one's, Hmmm. I'm gonna upgrade the drags to HT-100's.  Can/should I buy a stainless gear sleeve (I'll be using it for sharkin')?  Do you have one available for me, Alan?  Thanks
Dom

alantani

dom, you have a black spool, right?  it's not plastic, it's anodized aluminum.  depending on the model year, there were varying combinations of washers used in all of these reels.  don't worry, they all work just fine.  stainless steel gear sleeves are available from electramate.  don't bother just yet.  you should be fine.  change out the drag stack to ht-100's if you don't have them already.  add a #6-114 drag washer under the main gear.  don't forget the cal's grease.  the 114h used a leaf spring for the dog.  you got two?  first thought?  you know how crisp dollar bills stick together?  maybe that was what happened.  

dom, i think they just make reels different on the east coast.  or some one is messin' with you!   ;D
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

broadway

Hey Alan,