question of faith

Started by raider, December 03, 2013, 06:36:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

raider

Hey,
Yesterday i discussed with another catfish angler about tackle. Every such discussion ends in the Fin Nor Offshore or Penn Spinnfisher argument. I believe  that more than 90% of the catfish anglers in Austria and Germany use only these reels. This reel question is very emotional. The Penn is about 30% cheaper, the Fin Nor is used by the most prominent catfish angler (sponsoring).
I know only one person who uses both, each other has a favorite. (My favorite is the Penn).

Because of the reason, that nobody argues objective, I ask here the same question... I hope i get here the answer...
What is the technical better reel? Penn Spinnfisher or Fin Nor Offshore?

Daniel

Ron Jones

I have no knowledge of the Fin Nor, but if you have upgraded a SS SpinFisher with all the stuff guys do around here you have a reel that is absolutly bullet proof.
Ron
Ronald Jones
To those who have gone to sea and returned and to those who have gone to sea and will never return
"

alantani

among pistol shooters, there is a saying.  "God made man, Colonel Colt made them equal."  

if you go through and properly lube a fishing reel, then you will eliminate 99% of the associated corrosion problems.  if you then change out the drag washers and install new greased carbon fiber drags, then suddenly all reels are equal, at least to the fish.  some reels will certainly deliver more drag pressure then others, but that is more a matter of the size of the reel.  this is important.  install greased carbon fiber drag washers and the fish cannot tell the difference.