Avet bearings & freespool question

Started by the rockfish ninja, December 22, 2013, 06:00:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

the rockfish ninja

Hey folks, I'm a newbie with a question.

I own & love my Avet SX MC, after buying it *ALL* my Penns just sit. So because of having only one it got a lot of usage over this year. After noticing less casting distance and less freespool time, I broke it down, cleaned it up inside, removed the gunky grease from the bearings, re-lubed them with corrosion X, and re-greased the slow moving gears and parts. All done by the tutorial that Alan Tani posted on this forum, along with some other Avet related reading I've done.

The results are, I got it back together, it functions correctly in all ways, it cranks smoother, and freespool time doubled. But that's nothing to get exited about cause my freespool time was 7 seconds, now it's 14. I keep reading about people cleaning out the bearings re-lubing them with tsi321 or corrosion X and getting almost a minute of spin, do I have bad bearings? The reel is only a year old, could they be defective? I did notice that even though the reel functions smoother, I can hear the bearings more now when I test the freespool spin.

I did a pretty good job of following the steps of the tutorial, and cleaned and lubed the parts well, any suggestions?
Deadly Sebastes assassin.

alantani

pull out the bare spool assembly and see how well it spins.  you might have to replace the spool bearings.  and welcome!
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

SoCalAngler

The MC on the Avets always slow down the spool even when fully backed off. I don't own any Avets with the MC so I'm not sure if 14 seconds is good or not, I do know my SX without the MC and after service and fishing a few times I get a minute and 30 seconds of freespool with the reel loaded with line.

the rockfish ninja

Quote from: SoCalAngler on December 22, 2013, 06:59:47 AM