PENN SS SERIES COMMON BREAK/FIX ISSUES AND MODS

Started by LTM, February 28, 2014, 08:40:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

LTM

SS REEL MEN,

NOTE! THIS IS SPECIFIC TO THE xxxSS GENERATION REELS ONLY!!

What do you guys see as the common (aside from abuse) break/fix issues with the Spinfisher line of spinners? You can be specific to model (650,750,850) or by class/series (400ss class, 750/850 class).  Please be somewhat detailed in your comments for Im new to these reels and desire to totally understand them and their strengths and weaknesses. If you mention modifications that are posted on this forum, please provide a link or be specific enough so that a search will locate the topic. Also, if your aware of some slight difference between models please state. For instance the main difference between the 650ss and the 750ss is that the 750ss has double ar dogs and the 650ss doesnt. This may impact your decision on which model to buy, especially if your not aware of this point/difference. So, please dont assume (without being overboard about it). Parts interchangability between generations of reels is included in this subject/post as well.

Hopefully, this post will help all the NEW CONVERTS to this rugged well built reel. Thanks in advance to all the efforts from those who have introduced me to these reel from your posts and personal guidance in aquiring my first one as well.

Thanx,

Leo

MFB

Have a 7500SS (the red baron) & 8500ss both have bronze gears, drag upgrades they seem fairly bullet proof. Have fitted a bail arm & line roller upgrade (from MysticParts) to the 7500ss so I can use braid on it. Need to order one for my 8500 too.

Rgds

Mark  

"Edited as per Moderators to correct Scott's Bait & Tackle over to their new store name Mystic Reel Parts / www.mysticparts.com"
No man can lose what he never had.
                                                   Isaac Walton

Cone