Show off your favorite Lingcod vertical/yo-yo jig

Started by pjstevko, April 20, 2015, 08:37:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

pjstevko

Being that I'm new to California and west coast lingcod fishing I'm looking for suggestions on jigs for rock cod and lingcod. I'll be putting together a tackle roll of jigs for my first trip out so post up pics of your favorite brand, model and weight to help me spend some $$$$

Bryan Young

Hi PJ,

The depth of your location you are fishing dictates what rod/reel and tackle I would fish with.

I like near shore (less than 100 feet). 

Artificials:  I use 20#-30# braid main line with 30# leader tied to a 2-4 oz jig (diamond, P-Line, weighted head curly tail,...  About 2'-3' above the jig, I tie a dropper with a rock fly, curly tail grub,...  where my lure becomes a chaser of that lure above.

Live or Dead Bait:  I use 20#-30# braid main line with 4-6 oz sliding sinker that stops at a swivel.   The swivel is connected to a 2'-4' 30# leader that I attach a live (anchovie) or dead bait (such as a whole squid).  Sometimes, I will attached one of those small clip on float right in from of the squid so it floats above the bottom to reduce snags and keeps the squid in eye view from below and above.

Deep water (up to 240 feet), I use the same rigging method as above except I commonly use 50# braid with 50# leader and weights of the lures increase to 6-10 oz depending on wind and drift.  I use the lightest weight possible.

My rods are between 7'-9' long.  I prefer longer rods because my line is slightly farther out than the guy next to me.  I have an 11' rod that I have yet to try on a charter boat...It may be too long.  Will have to try and see though.

:D I talk with every part I send out and each reel I repair so that they perform at the top of their game. :D

theswimmer

Come with us on May 22nd and you will learn all sorts of stuff about West coast  rockfish jigging.

http://alantani.com/index.php?topic=13604.0