Ziplock vaccum bag food sealer?

Started by newport, September 02, 2015, 05:16:18 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

newport

Any thoughts on them for fish and food in general? I know FoodSaver has their own handheld vaccum sealer as well, would that be a better option or should I just get the regular vaccum sealer machine? Thanks in advance

Tiddlerbasher

I have used one of these for a few years:

http://www.fresherpack.co.uk/products/1/1/vacuum_sealer_-_eiffel_freshpack_pro/

It does the job very well - I use the long rolls -You can then make your bags any lenth you need ;)
Various size bags are readily available too.

I have stored fish in them for upto 3 years with no freezy burn :)

Stan

I've been using the Weston Pro 2300  for several years now, and will never by another foodsaver.

http://www.vacuumsealerland.com/weston-pro-2300-review/

Tiddlerbasher

Very nice Stan - but a different pay grade to mine :D

bluefish69

I have been using a Food Saver machine at least 5 yrs. Nothing gets freezer burned. I use both pre cut bags & long rolls both work great. The Gasket wore out once & I replaced it for a couple of bucks. Would buy another if I had to.

Mike
I have not failed.  I just found 10,000 ways that won't work.

Reel 224

Like Mike, I also have been using the Food Saver and have been using it for years. I'm pleased with it and would recommend it as a home use vacuum sealer.

Joe
"I don't know the key to success,but the key to failure is trying to please everyone."

AlasKen

I have been using some vacuum zip bags from Walmart with my foodsaver on fish and game as well as other items.  It is a bottom loading bag that has a tear off top that also has a zip lock feature.  I use it for packing stuff for the boat to keep it fresh.  Allows partial use without need another container.  It works well if repacking dehydrated items from a #10 can into individual servings to save a few bucks.  Ken     

Steve-O