Quantum reels: why not on this forum?

Started by DoobieNaq, February 03, 2016, 06:23:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DoobieNaq

I have a friend that wants me to service his Quantum Kvd special, so I was trying to do some research on Quantum (I have limited experience, but never with Quantum).  I haven't found much on this site, so i was just wondering why?

Friend said it's an older reel and needs a good cleaning (I can handle that - no problem), but he also wanted to know of any upgrades I would suggest - said maybe bearings and carbontex drag.  I went on Smooothdrag to find the size and price, but they don't carry Quantum either.  What gives?

If this is an old topic, just point me in the right direction, please.

alantani

we don't come across quantum's that often here in the san francisco bay area.  going through their reels has been a back burner project for quite a while not.  i was at the fred hall show a couple of years ago and met one of the quantum guys at a sushi bar.  i retire in a few months.  it would be fun to do, but here are quite a few projects ahead of them.   :-\
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

johndtuttle

Quote from: DoobieNaq on February 03, 2016, 06:23:03 PM
I have a friend that wants me to service his Quantum Kvd special, so I was trying to do some research on Quantum (I have limited experience, but never with Quantum).  I haven't found much on this site, so i was just wondering why?

Friend said it's an older reel and needs a good cleaning (I can handle that - no problem), but he also wanted to know of any upgrades I would suggest - said maybe bearings and carbontex drag.  I went on Smooothdrag to find the size and price, but they don't carry Quantum either.  What gives?