Spectra vs. Guides

Started by Norcal Pescador, March 26, 2011, 08:05:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Norcal Pescador

Okay rod gurus, what are your thoughts, experiences, etc. on spectra use on rods without rollers? Should I be using all-roller rods with spectra when fishing for tuna (school-sized or bigger)? I have an 80# spectra rig with a roller stripper and tiptop, and the rest have inserts. My other spectra rig is 50# with a roller tiptop and s/s ring guides.
Rob
Rob

Measure once, cut twice. Or is it the other way around? ::)

"A good man knows his limits." - Inspector Harry Callahan, SFPD

Dominick

Rob:  I have no experience with Spectra.  This is my first season using it.  I have read where Specra cuts through rod guides and in some cases grooves roller guides.  However, One of the things I do before each fishing trip is "tune" (my term) the rollers.  I take the rollers out and clean and polish (if necessary) the bushing.  Then I put a drop of Corrision-X on them.  Then I take a length of fishing line go one and half times around the roller and work the line back and forth, spinning the roller to make sure it is spinning free.  Some of my rods have rollers with pin bearings.  I carefully remove them, and I mean carefully and put some Yamalube on them to make sure they stay in place and roll free.  If you tune the rods in this manner I expect that you will not see any problems.  Also I'm of the opinion, if the rods have a stripper roller and a roller tip the guides in between do not get much pressure on them.  Dominick
Leave the gun.  Take the cannolis.

There are two things I don't like about fishing.  Getting up early in the morning and boats.  The rest of it is fun.

Steve-O

The long and short of it is.......it depends. ::)

Here's what some rod building sites say.
SiC