Main Menu

Reels

Started by Wayne The Punk, February 11, 2017, 07:21:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Wayne The Punk

Hi everyone. I have been fishing for over 40 years now. Just recently started lure fishing, I was amazed how quickly fixed spool reels seem to need maintenance. I suppose I was spoiled by having an Abu 7000 in the 80s, which just seemed to require a wash under the tap and a drip of oil

Not looking to rebuild the planet, would just like to keep my reels smooth

David Hall

That s what it's all about, plus hot ridding reels, and fixing your friends reels, and ..........

BryanC

Not all spinning (fixed spool) reels are created equal with regard to need for frequent maintenance.  In the past 15-20 years, spinning reels have been marketed mainly on price and number of bearings.  Evidently more bearings = better in the eyes of most of the market.  So there are a lot of spinners with bearings where they aren't needed.  Sometimes they don't offer a substantial benefit at all, except to jack up the bearing count.  Between this and the trend for low price, "use it till it breaks then toss it" reels, you see a lot of them that need attention frequently.

There are a lot of people on this site who appreciate older, quality gear that was built to last.  You can find 50 year old Penn and Mitchell spinners that still work like new, and don't require a lot of TLC to keep them functioning properly.  These reels may not perform well with modern braided line, as the spool oscillation was not designed for that.  But they work very well with mono.

Some modern spinners are better than others also.  The new Daiwa BG reels have been getting favorable reviews.  I purchased two of them myself in December, but have I not been fishing for the past few months due to a back injury and haven't got to test them yet.  I expect them to do pretty well though, based on everything I've read.

Keta

Hi, my name is Lee and I have a fishing gear problem.