Fishing with vintage tackle

Started by mikeysm, August 05, 2017, 11:44:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mikeysm

I have a passion for vintage tackle. I here all the time about the latest and the greatest and the vintage stuff isn't up to the task of catching fish anymore. I believe as long as it catches fish it's still usable.  You don't need something new to catch fish. It may not perform like the latest gear but it will still do the job. Don't ever let anyone tell you different.

Mike

Vintage Offshore Tackle

Mike, I agree 100%, unless I am fishing for something that is going to hurt me, in which case I want state of the art!

basto

Yes, Totally agree with you both. I have an Australian Surfmaster and an Ocean City 112 which I intend to spool up when I get back home.
Over in Western Australia at present and had the opportunity to fish the beaches off Ningaloo reef. This reef is 300 kms long and hugs the mainland all the way.
Yes, you can cast to it from the shore. Caught some nice golden trevally and flathead.My wife caught the biggest ones as usual.
cheers
Basto
DAM Quick 3001      SHIMANO Spedmaster 3   Jigging Master PE5n

mikeysm

I have the late stuff also. But it's for the big stuff. There is nothing like a vintage reel to modify to bring a sense accomplishment to a person.

Mike

Swami805

I try and take one vintage set-up on every outing, Still workes fine and there's something to be said for style points.
Do what you can with that you have where you are

Midway Tommy