Question: Spinning Rod Build

Started by Rivverrat, April 11, 2018, 12:01:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rivverrat

I've some experience now with several rod builds behind me. However only a couple spinning rods & they were ultra lite. 

Question when building a spinning rod on a blank that is normally used with a conventional reel does the line rating need to go down a level with the stripper guide being placed out so far from from the reel ?

Has any body experience using the smaller high framed guides ?  This would be using braid with 10' mono leader on 8' rod... Jeff

oldmanjoe

For the few that i have built ,yes you can use a smaller stripper guide. 
You have to take in consideration the spool diameter for the stripper diameter.
     Fore example 2.5 inch diameter spool i can use a 25 mm guide around 20 inches away      braid line .           braid or mono combination than i would use a 30 mm stripper

The only  true way to find out is tape on the guides and do test casts and load the blank for the rest of the guide train
Grandpa`s words of wisdom......Joey that thing between your shoulders is not a hat rack.....    use it.....
A mind is like a parachute, it only work`s  when it is open.......
The power of Observation   , It`s all about the Details ..
 Forget about all the reasons why something may not work. You only need to find one good reason why it will.   Alto Mare

thorhammer